employment recommendation

I am middle-aged and it has become apparent that the likelihood of getting employment in the creative fields is unlikely to happen. All my eggs are basically in that basket.

I am a decent cook, occasional baker, and doing a modicum of gardening this summer. Aside from that I have no real practical skills or experience.

Can anyone recommend a career path with upward mobility for someone in my position?

Upvote 19

Ass_sandwich77

depends on your expectations. Theres always going to places to work but you might have to start at the bottom, or invest time into learning a new skill. your never too old to learn a new skill. On the contrary you probably have a plenthrea of transferable skills you've picked over the years that could easily translate to other areas if giving the chance to be nurtured or refined.

If you have time to look id recommend looking in Trucking, get your AZ liesence. There in high demand now and have a good entry level pay. Mining is another field that (at times) hires and trains people with no prior experience but can be physically demanding and you may have to relocate.

since you have some experience with culinary arts another options would be restaurant management. Alot of people have a hard time with this cus people in the food service industry are kinda looked at as a joke and associated with kids and high schoolers but they always need people and especially managers

this is what kinda happened to me at the beginning of the pandemic. I got a collage degree and tons of different certifications and what not but I didn't have time to look so i grabbed some shity fast food job. was less then 4 months till they boosted me up to management where i basiclly keep track of inventory and babysit retarded teenagers.

Nothing to be proud of at all but allowed me to avoid CERB and still work unvaxxed.

D

Deleted member 1153